index | archives | notes

Monday, Feb. 15, 2016
12:51 p.m.
<< [
- ] >>

I count the blessings, the way modern psychological studies recommend you do: My parents and brothers are all alive and as happy as they possibly can be. Dedicated partner of almost four years. Friends fall all over themselves to know me, to come to my parties, to take trips with me. A fulfilling job that provides enough flexibility and money that I can fuck off for a long weekend to Tahoe, or eat out every night if I want to, or purchase copious quantities of drugs, or all three at once if I'm feeling like a Real Adult (TM).

The small, dark moments cry out to me. What if he doesn't love me? What if no one loves me? What if no one has ever loved me? And I drown the sorrows in champagne and denial. Text another person. Take another pill. Start another self-help mission.

It's simultaneously what I always envisioned adulthood would be like, and not at all what I imagined. Equal parts freedom and sorrow. I have two clear memories from my childhood: a memory where I reassure myself that my adulthood would come with the opportunity to do whatever the fuck I wanted, and a memory where I realize that my own adulthood would be punctuated with profound, inescapable sadness like my father's.

Twenty-seven and I still fantasize about driving my car into the center divide. They tell me it gets better.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org