index | archives | notes

Friday, Aug. 14, 2020
3:36 a.m.
<< [
Baby ] >>

I watch the watercolor red spread up up up, bleed through the white. Tiny red line one. Expected.

Tiny red line two. Unexpected.

But not impossible.

I check the instructions again. Lay in stream three seconds. Check.

Lay flat. Check.

Wait five minutes. Check.

And there it is. Red line and tiny red line.

I check the instructions again, decide I must have done something wrong, but another strip will clear this right up.

Five minutes later, second strip is the same as the first. Two red lines.

I decide the first two strips must be broken. Ever the data-collector, I open a third strip, dip it in water for three seconds, lay it flat too, and arrange it with the others.

My kitty timer tick tick ticks in the background for five more minutes.

One red line. As one would expect of the control test.

I start to walk upstairs to the bedroom, thinking I'll wake my husband and tell him. I hear his snoring, remember how hard it is for him to sleep, and I walk back downstairs without waking him up.

I go back upstairs and this time he stirs, calls, "Baby?"

And yes. That's exactly what this is.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org