index | archives | notes

Sunday, Sept. 04, 2005
10:39 a.m.
<< [
Jesus Crisis ] >>

We're standing outside, I can see my breath (or is that smoke?) in the night. All these scene kids in one place; I've never seen so many before. I turn to my friend and tell him I'm not used to this. Another boy chimes in.

"Not used to what? People?"

I smile a little and nod.

"Go kill yourself."

I crack up, because he tells everyone to kill themselves.

Later, we're standing inside. My childhood friend tells me, "It's an unofficial rule that I just made up right now that when there's a girl lead singer who screams, you have to mosh." He rolls up his sleeves and gets ready to "tear shit up". The boy who told me to kill myself earlier turns to me.

"You going to be okay?"

Me, I have pretty much no idea what's going on, since I've never moshed before.

"Yeah," and I smile again.
"You sure?"
"Mmhmm,"
"Okay. Don't die," he says, and I'm still smiling.
"Hahaha, you told me to kill myself earlier, remember?"
"Well, sure," he says, "suicide is okay, but it would be horrible if you were killed. Murder sucks."

I laugh again, and I ask him something just before the lights dim.

"Why would I die, anyway?"

He doesn't have time to answer before the music starts up, and when it does, I understand why he was so concerned.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org