index | archives | notes

Saturday, Oct. 22, 2005
9:36 p.m.
<< [
Railing ] >>

The only thing separating me from this place and that place is a wire fence. The sidewalk and the road. The overpass and the freeway.

I grip the fence with my fingers and I remember a picture my friend used to have. It was of a guy crossing over a road, and there was a fence surrounding it. The caption read: "without it, you'd be dead".

The cars all look pretty much the same from here. There are two categories; Coming and Going.

I call and ask everyone the question of the day.

"What are you living for?" I ask my best friend.

"I'm not sure. Just out of habit, I guess."

I move off the overpass.

"What am I living for?"

"The same thing."

I walk back to the center and grip the fence with my fingers again, forehead against the wire.

Without it, I think, you'd be dead.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org