index | archives | notes

Sunday, Jan. 27, 2008
11:57 p.m.
<< [
Philosophy ] >>

When I stand and fill my lungs, I can feel the bones shift, vertebra crack and wriggle, and every step creaks like the springs I've been sleeping on. My body, decaying, while everything else is taking flight.

A few days ago I volunteered at a special needs class in an elementary school. There were seven children from fourth to sixth grade, some of them with Down's, one with autism, a couple in wheelchairs and one with I don't know what. I was expecting a disconnected class, each child in his or her own mind, doing his or her own thing, but that wasn't it at all. They were all connected, helpful, playing with eachother during recess, even the ones that couldn't vocalize.

I told my old boss that I want to be a special education teacher at the elementary level. She said, "I could never do that, it would make me too sad. I don't understand how you can do that."

Grim, I said, "I think it's sadder not to do anything at all."

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org