index | archives | notes

Thursday, Dec. 17, 2009
6:01 a.m.
<< [
Past-Negative Perspective ] >>

I pulled the first 4.0 of my college career yesterday. I was sitting in my boyfriends house and started yelling, "Look at my A's! LOOK AT THEM!" The future mother-in-law overhead and walked in. She said congratulations, and that if she hadn't just put dinner in the oven she might have taken me out to dinner for said 4.0. That's what she's done with her sons.

I smiled and didn't take it seriously. "My own parents don't take me out to dinner for good grades," I said.

Later, the fiance and I were talking and he said, "She was serious, you know. She's taking you out on Monday."

I'm having a lot of trouble accepting that other people can be supportive. I'm used to not telling anyone in my life about my good grades because I'm used to being told one of two things: a monotone "good job" while said parents are still staring at the computer or television, or being asked, "Why wasn't it better?"

My parents.

They got a lot right, but they got a lot wrong, too.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org