index | archives | notes

Tuesday, May. 25, 2010
6:25 p.m.
<< [
It's All Right ] >>

These days I find myself thinking back to the time I was arrested, when I sat in the booking station on the phone and the field trippers filed by, single file. I think about the kid in the green beanie, the last in line, who stopped and smiled and waved at me. I stopped and smiled and waved back.

I wonder why he did that, the small kindness shown to a guilty girl not much older than him. I wonder how he's doing now, if it's served him well. Is he the sort of friendly boy that's the life of the party, now? Or is he the sort of awkward friendly that finds sustenance in the strange, the outcasts? Was I an outcast, or a person to that boy in green?

Mostly, I wonder if he's okay. I hope he's okay. I hope that some day I meet him again, and even though I know I won't recognize him, I hope that I am able to return his kindness. His optimism.

Once, I said I wanted to be the love I see in the world. These days I want to be the love I saw.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org