index | archives | notes

Sunday, Jun. 20, 2010
8:21 p.m.
<< [
Redemption ] >>

Haven't talked to the Not So Best Friend since that Thursday a few months ago. Today is his birthday and this is the first time I haven't called to wish him a good one. Even when we were fighting, even when we were doing our marathon six months of no contact, I always wished him happy birthday. Every year.

My brother lent him a game a few years ago that the Not So Best Friend then lost, the way he did plenty of my treasured objects. I know they are just things, but I come from a family that puts a lot of stock in "just things". When he lost my brother's game, I felt responsible--my friend, my problem. When I realized he wasn't going to find it or replace it or take responsibility, I bought my brother another copy myself.

Years later I'm still cleaning up his little messes.

I'd like to be able to say that today was the day I deleted him for good, forever-ever, but the truth is I'm not quite there yet. I can swim a mile, bike twenty five, and then run six to top it all off, but I can't unfriend the most destructive person I know on fucking facebook. Some lost fifteen year old part of me still wants his approval, still wants him to notice.

Pathetic.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org