index | archives | notes

Sunday, Aug. 15, 2010
8:33 a.m.
<< [
My Poet ] >>

I took him to a hill. The top of the world, it's called here. I chain-smoked, and we talked about building a life together. I shivered in my little leggings, my big stompy goth boots, and he held me closer.

On the way home, I played Animal Collective for him, and when we passed two couches sitting out on the street ("FREE", they declared) I demanded that he flip a bitch and park. We sat on the couches, the couches on the sidewalk under the streetlight, at one in the morning.

"Yeah," I thought, "I could do this for the rest of my life."

We laid awake talking until a few minutes ago. He would ask me a question, I would ask him a question, rinse, repeat. It was my turn.

"Tell me something you don't want to tell me."

"I love these little mental challenges you think up for me," he said, then paused for a moment. A long moment.

"I'm not a hundred percent sure yet, but I think..." here, my heart skipped. "I think I love you."

I showed him my last entry and he laughed, with all of himself, the way I knew he would.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org