index | archives | notes

Thursday, Aug. 19, 2010
9:30 p.m.
<< [
Melodramatic Prose! ] >>

He pointed out the brick wall remnants as we drove past; told me it was a brewery that exploded way back when.

"You need to pull over right now," I said, "so we can explore."
"Alright," he said. He is so good at indulging my whims.

In pajamas, I crawled through the ruins and crushed branches under my ballet flats. He held the tiny LED flashlight I keep on my keychain for just such occasions.

We climbed the stone stairs into the forested hill, and he was amazed when I found the paths he'd never noticed before.

"Let's go," I said, and that's how we spent half an hour hiking through woods in pajamas in the middle of the night.

Back in my hotel room, I listened to his pulse and he asked, "You know what I really like about this?"
"?"
"I can pretend it's our place, and we're living together the way we talk about."

We talked about living together, our house, our kids. He wants what I want for our children, and goodness, I did not realize anyone could be this perfect for me. I did not realize that I could be this happy, that I could share dreams and goals with someone so completely.

And then we did what we always do--talked until we fell asleep, woke up an hour later, kept talking. We cat-nap to sustain ourselves until the sun comes up, and then we adventure. It may be for the best that we only see eachother once a week, because any more than that wouldn't leave time for us to catch up on the sleep we miss with eachother around.

We woke up late and ate burgers for breakfast, then wandered around main street in some unfamiliar town. We held hands and looking at strange, interesting, funny things, and traded "I love you"s wherever we could get away with it, which was damn near everywhere. He told me he didn't want me to go, I told him I had to, and I'm not going to see him again until next weekend and it breaks my fucking heart.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org