index | archives | notes

Sunday, Aug. 14, 2011
8:58 a.m.
<< [
Last Stand ] >>

Yesterday, my last day with the babies who raised me. Seven, eight, and ten now, the children who guided me through my teaching career. They did more for me than I ever did for them.

Little Rock's parents brought food for the whole staff and set it up on a table; all my favorite things were arranged around a picture of him and I together, smiling. They handed me a card and that's when the waterworks started. I stood there crying because they did all of this for me. This is what I do. Feel narcissistic saying it, but I touched their lives, so everyone came together to thank me and send me off proper.

My next class, my other favorites, I've been teaching the girl for three years and the boy for a year. My little girl brought me a shirt and scarf with my favorite Disney princess on it, and a necklace with my name that I've decided to wear forever. My little boy held me and cried, hard, for well over half an hour today.

My life is so full of love that I didn't earn. I am so lucky, I was so lucky four and a half years ago to take that public speaking class, to meet the girl who suggested I apply, to be interviewed by the managers that saw potential in me. I was so lucky to be hired, then to be given these particular children. I really feel like God arranges my life to be as wonderful as possible, and I feel terrible that I've done nothing to earn it.

I love you all, my babies. Always remember that.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org