index | archives | notes

Sunday, Feb. 26, 2012
3:45 p.m.
<< [
Competence ] >>

My program director is to my right, now, reviewing video she took of my baby girl and I. Specifically, of me running a program with my baby girl. "This will make a great training video," she says, "For the new hires."

"Oh wow," I say, flattered. "You think I'm a good enough example to train the newbies with?"

Oh yeah," She says, with a slight furrowing of her brow to indicate I'm a little dumb for doubting it. "Look, you kept trials fast-paced, you got her attending, you're a great example of prompting here, you differentially reinforce the prompted trials versus the correct trials," the praise spews out of her.

Every day that passes, I get a little better, find something else I love about my jobs, my children, my life. Thursday we spent the day at the Children's Discovery Museum. Friday I ran the session with my twin with the program director watching the whole time. The program director praised me for the session, for my interaction with her, and I still managed to get through every program with incredible results. I do so well with my baby girl, in fact, that we often can't consider a skill mastered off until other teachers come in and do it with her, because she will often do things for me that she won't do for anyone else.

And Friday, Jesus, amazing. Came into my baby twin's team meeting to have praise rain down on me from the program director in front of the family and whole team. "If you're ever in doubt about what do to if Baby Girl refuses to eat, do what Amanda did," she says. "Amanda did it perfectly--she reduced the demand, then had Baby Girl request escape."

I'm so lucky.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org