index | archives | notes

Tuesday, May. 31, 2016
8:18 a.m.
<< [
- ] >>

In six hours I'll be sitting in a room with other hopefuls, staring at a screen for four more hours in hopes I can pick enough correct answers to advance through this arbitrary hoop. It's scary because I have to try, because I never have to try. What if I try and fail? That would be the worst.

So I'm trying to focus on what I do have, instead. When I die, no one will care whether or not I passed this test on the first try. People will remember that I always smiled, that I took the time to help them when it mattered, that I stood up for them when they needed it. The test is terrifying, but significantly less terrifying than being alone. I count my blessings on my fingers: my best friends, my brothers, my fiance, all rearranging their adult lives so they can come be with me tonight when the test is over.

Pass or fail, I have love in my life.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org