index | archives | notes

Friday, Aug. 10, 2018
7:23 p.m.
<< [
Identity Crisis ] >>

As of six days ago I have a new name, and the whole a rose-by-any-other name thing is the truth, but like many other truths I have found, it's not complete. Our reality is shaped by language. The language used to describe me has changed.

I read somewhere (here we are again) that if you ask a man and a woman to define themselves, the man will use occupations while the woman will use relationships. Manager vs. mother. Supervisor vs sister. I am a wife now, both different from and exactly the same as girlfriend. What changed? Something did. Not the role, so, then, me. I must have changed.

Process of elimination.

My work email changed today, though my legal name is the same (and will be until we finally mail in the paperwork). My parents were confused, at first, that Unfamiliar Amanda was emailing them, informing them she would be at their houses later. Each laughed when they realized it was me, same as always. Yet not.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org