index | archives | notes

Friday, Jun. 09, 2006
3:19 p.m.
<< [
End of the Road ] >>

Today was the last day of normal school.

First period a friend of mine walks in. We took a strange sort of liking to eachother at the beginning of the year and ever since, we've had an odd sort of antagonistic relationship--we argue like a married couple. We swap yearbooks and when I get mine back, I start to tear up at what he's written. A long passage about how he's sorry for judging me based on appearances, that I'm one of a kind. It wouldn't be such a big deal if he didn't hate all that sentimental crap and hadn't been a jerk to everyone the whole year.

Later on in the day, fifth period advanced drama, we watch scenes, and the teacher (also the director of the play I was in and the guy I assist during third period) comes over and hands me an envelope. "For being such an awesome TA," he says.

Inside the envelope is a card that says congratulations on graduating, and a handwritten note thanking me for the work I did. There is also a gift certificate for Borders--thirty dollars. Right about here is where I start to cry, and I can't stop for the rest of the day. After handing me the card, the teacher says he's arranged something he wants to show us. Two of the underclassmen get up on stage and sing us a song from Wicked; a song for all the seniors that are graduating this year. One of the girls onstage starts to cry, then the other, and then more, and when the song is over we all climb up onstage for a group hug.

We talk and make jokes even though half of us are leaking, and then we hold hands and pass the light; an old tradition.

I cried off all of my makeup.

I spent so much time acting like I hated it here, and now that I'm leaving, only now do I see how attatched I was.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org