index | archives | notes

Thursday, Oct. 25, 2007
8:03 a.m.
<< [
Being a Libertarian ] >>

In the cafeteria I'm seated across from this girl I talk to on occasion, and I find myself arguing in favor of something I'd never really realized I supported.

"All I'm saying is, if people want to come to our country they should learn to speak our goddamn language."

I frown a little, and shrug a little. "I don't know if I really get off on telling other people how to live their lives. I mean I guess if they get angry that we don't speak their language, that's one thing, but to force them to assimilate like that seems fascist."

What we're really arguing about here are differences. I think people are allowed to be different, and she thinks it is the source of misunderstandings.

"I don't see why they can't come over legally either; it's not like it's hard to do."

"People come to this country because they want something better. Who are we to deny that?"

I'm trying, desperately, to make her understand before my best friend jumps at her like I can feel him preparing to do. I'm glancing over at him every few seconds and he's glaring.

"Yeah but it's not like it's so hard to do it legally, they're just lazy. I mean you came over legally right?"

"Yeah, from Canada, but not everyone else--"

"Not everyone else has the abilities or the resources to do so because they live in a dictatorship, you stupid bitch."

Here's where it's all over.

"I'm tired of listening to you spew this bullshit. Let's see you leave the country and we'll see how well you do, because I'm guessing the answer is not so well."

She sits, stunned, mouth opening and closing like a fish.

"What does that have to do with anything?"

"It has everything to do with it! Your arguments aren't ven based in fact and I'm tired of having to goddamn hear it."

"Well you know what, if you don't like it, you can leave."

"No, fuck you, I'm sitting right here. Why don't you leave?"

"Fine."

She starts packing and gets up. Me, I've been the subject of this, so I know not to respond. She's kind of my friend, so when she gets up, I give her a hug, but I don't leave with her.

"Well. Glad that's over."

"I thought I was gonna have to strangle her."

"Me too. I tried."

"I know. Let's go smoke."

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org