index | archives | notes

Saturday, Dec. 08, 2007
5:51 p.m.
<< [
The Truth in Light ] >>

Today after class, the parents of my student with autism handed him a card to hand to me, all beaming. After work I read it, and this is what it says, verbatim.

Hi Teacher Amanda,

Mom and Dad said I remember your name because I love swimming so much. I think its cause you're such a cool teacher.

Love,

Little Rock

The text is small and even, obviously printed by his parents, but the name is big and crooked, seven year old style.

Inside the card was a picture of him, smiling, eyes shut the way he looks after he's jumped into the pool and come up for breath. Behind the picture is a twenty five dollar gift car.

I sang, literally sang, the whole way home.

Could life be any more amazing? Any more satisfying?

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org