index | archives | notes

Monday, Dec. 10, 2007
4:13 p.m.
<< [
Short shorts ] >>

I've pulled out the little picture to show everyone important in my life.

"Look!" I say, "This is him! My student with autism, Little Rock. And that's the little face he makes when he jumps into the pool, and when he comes up sputtering."

"He's so cute! And you're so happy!" Every single person that loves me has said some version of that. I didn't think a picture would mean so much to me, but when I am stressed out or unhappy, I find myself pulling it out and smiling. I've been teaching him for a little more than four months, and this is maybe the most meaningful relationship I've had yet.

His eyes are shut and his mouth is wide, like he doesn't know where he's going, but it doesn't really matter much either. He's happy regardless.

I'm happy regardless.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org