index | archives | notes

Saturday, Mar. 08, 2008
7:00 p.m.
<< [
God's Judge ] >>

I met my second student with autism today, God's Judge. His mother requested me, I found out, because she is friends with Little Rock's mother.

He's four years old and fairly high functioning, he smiles and makes eye contact and when I asked him what sound ducks make he said, "Quack quack," which may not sound important but it is for two reasons. First of all, he knows what sound ducks make, which means he can tie facts together. Second, he knew to say the sound that ducks make, which means he knows not only the answers to questions, but that he should answer questions when they are asked. He can communicate, which is more than I expected.

I blew bubbles today, trying to encourage him to put his face in the water. He stopped and stared for a beat, and then burst into laughter, delightful and wafting. God's Judge and my Little Rock. I could do this for the rest of my life.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org