index | archives | notes

Wednesday, Jul. 09, 2008
12:18 a.m.
<< [
Clarity ] >>

Still planning. I know the economy is terrible right now, so maybe even in a few years, starting a business isn't such a good idea, from a monetary view anyway. But I look at vacant buildings and lots and see my preschool. I could bring in language and behavioral therapists, onsite, so parents wouldn't have to worry about it. The small class size would make it so much easier to be flexible, and so much easier to care about the children. And I could set it up so that instead of changing teachers as the kids get older, like most preschools do now, they would rotate with the same teacher for the three or four years they're with us.

I talked to my dad about it. He says it sounds like a good idea, something actually worth doing. I told him I was worried about getting funding, and he told me not to be, said, "Start with the idea. There's plenty of money out there." He said, "What you have right now is a theme. Now you need a plot."

So it looks like I'll be getting my bachelor's in psychology in probably a couple more years, and after that, a master's in special education. It also looks like once I've outgrown teaching swim lessons, I'll probably move on to behavioral therapy for children with autism, and then possibly occupational therapy. All of this is several years in the future, sure.

I have a deaf student in one of my classes. A little girl, I want to say seven? I don't know sign language, but I think I'm making do. I can't explain to her why things are done a certain way, but she's smart and catches on pretty quickly, even without the explanation. We make do with pantomimes and vigorous head-nodding. I always said that if I had to sacrifice a sense it would be hearing over vision, but now I'm not so sure.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org