index | archives | notes

Saturday, May. 19, 2012
9:30 p.m.
<< [
Speaking ] >>

The walk was today, and the best of best things happened: the baby girl I had to leave damn near a year ago was there, and her mother pulled me out of the crowd and into a hug. Smiled at first, then did a double take and started screaming when I realized it was her.

Found her after the walk under the balloon arch, my baby girl and her family. She'll be four in August. She can make requests independently. I cried when she gave me a hug.

The father of the baby boy I lost in February found me too, held his son to my face, and said, "We were really hoping you'd be back on his team." This same ex-marine father made me cry during my field evaluation, my test to become an instructor when I first started. This father that hated me stood in front of me today and said, "So what are you gonna do about getting back on his team, hmmm?"

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org