index | archives | notes

Monday, Feb. 14, 2005
4:22 p.m.
<< [
Happy V-day ] >>

I'm sitting alone, back of the school, a black and white figure against a black and white background. I am watching the stoplights change colors at the corner from where I sit. There is a group of kids sitting at a picnic table to my left, but they are far enough away for me to be able to ignore them.

A boy approaches, but I do not see him or even notice he is there until he speaks up. It is a simple "Hey."

He has curly red hair, and some freckles. A year or two younger than me. He places a small package of candy and a folded up piece of binder paper on my backpack and begins to walk away.

"Thanks," I say, and he nods in acknowledgement.

I stare a moment at the paper, and go to unfold it. There is writing, scrawled hastily in black marker, and a small face someone has drawn. A robot maybe? I can't tell. "Happy V-day," it reads. It's probably the single sweetest thing anyone has ever done for me

I don't even know his name.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org