index | archives | notes

Wednesday, May. 26, 2004
3:13 p.m.
<< [
Fade to Black ] >>

I prop my backpack up on a chair to find my book more easily. Inside of the book, there is a bookmark, and on the bookmark I have written page numbers and books for monologues I am interested in performing. From the corner to my right I hear rustling; he is going through his backpack too.

A pencil is nonchalantly dropped on the desk. It is a cheap bic mechanical pencil; the eraser is gone and the clip is a sick blue green hybrid; the black ink has faded off from months of hard use as my drawing pencil. I pause, then turn to look at him with a quizzical expression.

"You did not have to return it."
"I found it."
I continue rummaging through my backpack.

"Keep it."

Pause.

A shrug and a smile from him; for a moment I see the boy I loved.

"You said you wanted it back."

The boy I loved disappears, and I begin to walk away.

"I said a lot of things."

The pencil is still on the desk and Exit - Stage Left and congratulations Amanda, you're still a fuck up.

<< | x | >>
whatiscopyright.org